Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation

Fellowship opportunity:

Deadline: January 9, 2020

The Sarnoff Fellowship Program offers medical students enrolled in accredited U.S. medical schools the opportunity to spend a year conducting intensive work in a biomedical research facility in the United States, other than the medical school in which they are enrolled.

Fellows are selected on the basis of a national competition. Sarnoff seeks individuals with demonstrated intellectual and academic achievement, as well as leadership ability.

Although applicants may have prior research experience, applications are also encouraged from students without extensive prior research experience. Applicants enrolled in an MD/PhD program will not be eligible for a Sarnoff Fellowship.

Applications are encouraged from second and third year medical students. Fourth year medical students are required to submit an official letter from their medical schools granting graduation deferment.

There are no citizenship requirements for application, but those who are not U.S. citizens must have and maintain an appropriate visa. The Foundation will not handle visa matters for applicants.

Fellowship awardees receive the following benefits:

  • $32,000 annual stipend
  • Allowances up to $8,000 for travel support to select a Preceptor and Fellowship laboratory and attend the Sarnoff Annual Scientific Meeting and American Heart Association Scientific Sessions, moving expenses, health insurance and funds for travel to present a paper at two national conferences

Each applicant must submit the following:

  • One-page personal statement describing scholarly interests and career plans
  • Three-page essay on the applicant’s cardiovascular topic of interest
  • Completed application form and signed statement of confidentiality
  • Official medical school transcript
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Recommendation from the applicant’s Sponsor
  • Two additional recommendations
  • Any other material that the applicant determines is appropriate to support the application

For further information visit :

For more information, contact:

Dana Boyd, Executive Director
Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation
731 Walker Road, Suite G-2
Great Falls, VA 22066

Phone: 703-759-7600

American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation

For more information:

Students MUST be nominated by the financial aid office. Nominated students will be given a submission code and the application is done online.

*Must be a current Med 3 student who will be graduating in May 2021.

Deadline: FEBRUARY 20, 2020 AT 11:59PM CST


The different scholarships are listed below:

1. AMA Foundation Physicians of Tomorrow (General) Scholarship

2. Underrepresented in Medicine (formerly Minority Scholars Award)

• African American, Latino/Hispanic, or Native Americans/Native Hawaiians/Alaska Natives who demonstrate a dedication to serving vulnerable or underserved populations
• Selection is based on academic excellence and financial need.
All accredited U.S. medical schools may submit two nominees for this award category

3. Dr. Richard Allen Williams & Genita Evangelista Johnson/Association of Black Cardiologists Scholarship (**$5,000)

• Must be an African-American student with an interest in cardiology
• *Must explain your interest in cardiology in your personal statement. One of your letters of recommendation should also reference this interest.
All accredited U.S. medical schools may submit one nominee for this award category

4. AMA Alliance Grassroots Physicians of Tomorrow Scholarship

• Must have an interest in and commitment to women’s and/or children’s health issues.
• Selection will be based on volunteer activities and/or research initiatives.
All accredited U.S. medical schools may submit two nominees for this award category

5. The Herman E. Diskin, MD Memorial Physicians of Tomorrow

• Must demonstrate a strong commitment to medicine, humanitarian, public service and compassionate patient care
All accredited U.S. medical schools may submit one nominee
• Selection is based on academic excellence and financial need
nominee for this award category

6. David Jones Peck, MD Scholarship for Health Equity

*African American, Latino/Hispanic, or Native American/Native Hawaiians/Alaska Natives who demonstrate a dedication to serving vulnerable or under-served populations and must demonstrate a commitment to increasing health equity.

General Eligibility Requirements
• Must be nominated through the medical school dean’s office or the dean’s designate.
• All nominees must be rising final year students (current third year students who are approaching their final year of medical school set to graduate in May 2021). If a student is in a five-year program, they can be nominated either at the end of their third year or prior to their final year in medical school.
• Must be currently enrolled in an accredited U.S. allopathic or osteopathic medical school.
• Must be permanent residents or citizens of the United States.
• *Note that AMA membership or non-membership is not taken into consideration