Medical Student Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award

Deadline: June

Please submit your application at least four weeks prior to the date the certificate is needed for graduation/presentation ceremonies.

SAEM is pleased to sponsor the Medical Student Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award. This award is made available to each medical school to select a senior medical student who has demonstrated excellence in the specialty of emergency medicine.
The student selected from each school will receive:

  • One-year subscription to the SAEM monthly journal, Academic Emergency Medicine
  • One-year subscription to the SAEM Newsletter
  • One-year resident/medical student membership in SAEM (July 1 – June 30)
  • Certificate of Excellence in Emergency Medicine



Each medical school is limited to one recipient each year.


Please complete the award application form (Word) with the name of the selected recipient four weeks prior to the date the certificate is needed for graduation/presentation ceremonies. Be sure to fill in the student’s address and e-mail address on the form, so he or she may receive the subscriptions.
All nominations can be submitted electronically to SAEM at or faxed to 847-813-5450.



Dr. Alexandra Greene Medical Student Award

The Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association Medical Student Award has been named in honor of Dr. Alexandra Greene. The award is given to recognize the great talent, hard work, and true compassion embodied by Dr. Greene, and to pass her memory on to students who might carry on her work.

Award Criteria

Recognizes 2 senior students (4th year) who displays a significant dedication to emergency medicine. Most importantly, this student goes out of his or her way for patients and colleagues. This student demonstrates compassion and professionalism even when faced with difficult situations and stresses

Application Process

Single letter of support, the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and application form


EMRA Student member – 4th year

Selection Criteria

Leadership and service to students.



Application Deadline

January 15

Award Date

Spring Meeting

Date of Inception

May 1997; dedicated to Dr. Alexandra Greene May 2007



American Academy of Neurology

Medical Student Prize for Excellence

The American Academy of Neurology’s Undergraduate Education Subcommittee (UES) is committed to promoting neurology as a specialty and as a potential career among undergraduate medical students.

Neurology clerkship directors, department chairs (and/or their designees), and neurology residents should evaluate the performance of all graduating medical students in the clinical neurology clerkship and choose one student from each medical school as recipient. The award winner must have outstanding evaluations and recommendations from faculty and residents and show the most promise for a career in neurology.

To be nominated, please provide the nominating letter for the medical student online before March 6, 2015. After nominations have been submitted and the recipients are identified, the AAN will send recipients a W-9 or 8-BEN Tax Form for Canadian citizens for their completion.

Please direct questions to Cheryl Alementi at (612) 928-6073.


Nomination Deadline: March 10, 2018

Please direct questions to Maggie Rock at or (612) 928-6073

Worcester (MA) District Medical Society

Scholarships available to legal residents in financial need of central Massachusetts in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th years of attending an accredited medical or osteopathic school.

Candidates must submit a completed application, a current transcript, two letters of recommendation and an essay on your reason(s) for selecting a career in medicine and why you are deserving of this award.

Deadline: July 31, 2018

For the list of eligible cities and towns in central Massachusetts and the online application visit

Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation

Fellowship opportunity:

This foundations offers a year of research in a wide variety of cardiovascular fields at a medical school other than the one in which the medical student is enrolled, although exceptions are made.

Second- and third-year medical students are encouraged to apply, and fourth-years who have negotiated a graduation deferment may apply. Applicants who are not US citizens must maintain an appropriate visa.   MD/PHD students are not eligible.  Prior research experience is not required.

Fellowship awardees receive the following benefits:

  • $32,000 annual stipend
  • Allowances up to $8,000 for travel support to select a Preceptor and Fellowship laboratory and attend the Sarnoff Annual Scientific Meeting and American Heart Association Scientific Sessions, moving expenses, health insurance and funds for travel to present a paper at two national conferences

Application requirements include a completed application form, a three-page essay, a one-page personal statement, a medical school transcript, three letters of recommendation and any other materials that would enhance the application package.

Deadline: January 10, 2018

For further information visit :

For more information, contact:

Dana Boyd, Executive Director
Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation
731 Walker Road, Suite G-2
Great Falls, VA 22066

Phone: 703-759-7600


The Pisacano Scholars Leadership Program

The Pisacano Scholars Leadership Program provides educational programs, leadership training, and funding for outstanding fourth-year medical students for a four-year period.  Students must make a commitment to the specialty of family medicine.

The funding program is designed to reimburse a portion of medical school debt incurred by the student by the conclusion of the required three-year residency.  The Foundation is especially interested in students who exhibit the highest levels of skill, compassion, and leadership.  A firm and continuing commitment to the specialty of family medicine is an essential precedent for any applicant to receive a Pisacano Scholarship.

Financial need is not a consideration.

Applicants must be:

  • (1)entering their fourth year in the fall of the calendar year
  • (2)at a U.S. medical school
  • (3)with family medicine as their specialty.

Deadline: March 1, 2018

For more information and an application

The Foundation of the Pennsylvania Medical Society

The Allegheny County Medical Society Scholarship offers a $4,000 scholarship to a medical student from that county in their 3rd or 4th year of medical school.

The Lehigh County Medical Auxiliary’s Scholarship and Education Fund offers two $2,500 scholarship for a full-time medical student from that county.

The Lycoming County Medical Society offers up to three $3,000 scholarships for full-time medical students from that county.

The Montgomery County Medical Society offers up to three $2,500 scholarship to first year medical students from that county.

The Myrtle Siegfried and Michael Vigilante MD Scholarship Fund offers a  $1,000 scholarship to a first year medical student from Berks, Lehigh or Northampton county.

The Blair County Medical Society Scholarship $1,000 scholarship for residents of Blair County in their second, third, or fourth year of medical school.

Deadline: September 30 each year.

For more information and an application visit