Franklin D. Boyce Annual Health Scholarship Program

Scholarship amounts of $2,500 are awarded. Applicants must:

  • Be attending or express an interest in attending college as a  graduate student in a health-related field;
  • Must live in Hopewell, Prince George, Petersburg or the surrounding areas of Virginia
  • Submit a completed “John Randolph Foundation Scholarship Application” online;
  • Mail or hand-deliver the “attachments” requested on the application (these attachments cannot be submitted online);
  • Demonstrate financial need; and Must have a G.P.A. of 3.0 or better
This scholarship is renewable up to three additional consecutive years, assuming the applicant continues to meet all criteria and submits an application for renewal.


Deadline: February 15 at 4pm
The application must be completed online. All required attachments must be either mailed to: John Randolph Foundation, P.O.
Box 1606, Hopewell, VA 23860
Questions call: 804-458-2239.

If the above due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday, then the deadline becomes the next business day by 4:00 p.m.


Health Focus of Southwest Virginia

Awarded first to students from southwest Virginia, then to students from Virginia, and, if funds remain, to students from southeastern United States, awards may range from $1,000 to $8,000.  Note the non-refundable $25 application fee and the requirement that all awarded funds be returned if the recipient does not complete medical school.

Applications available March 1

Application due May 11th

For more information, the cover letter and application visit


Mid-Tidewater Medical Society

The MTMS offers a $500-$750 renewable scholarship to a student attending medical school in VA who has connections with Gloucester, Mathews or Middlesex counties in VA. If you are from King and Queen County, or West Point County, they will also look at those applications as well.

Your CV must accompany the one-page application. For more information email

For the application, see Melissa in the Financial Aid Office.

Deadline: April 1, 2018

Medical Society of Northern Virginia

The MSNVA offers two $2,500 scholarships to students enrolled in a VA medical school who are residents of Fairfax County (including Alexandria City and all other independent municipalities) and Loudon County, 3rd year students when applying and able to accept the award in person at the MSNVA Legislative Breakfast in Vienna, VA.

Requirements include an application form, a CV, two reference letters, confirmation of enrollment and a one page statement of the applicant’s vision for the future of VA medicine.

Deadline: by 5pm  on April 11, 2017

The application form is available at the SOM Financial Aid Office or online at

Latino Medical Student Association

The LMSA offers a $500 scholarship to a medical student from one of a dozen states, including Virginia, who is a member of the LMSA (you may join now) with an interest in Latino healthcare.

  • Applicants must be current LMSA members with proof of paid membership (to be verified if selected). If you are not a member sign up HERE
  • Applicants must be medical students pursuing a DO or MD. Students with proof of enrollment to medical school for 2018 are also eligible to apply (must include letter of acceptance in this application, if selected proof of enrollment from your school will be required).
  • Applicants should demonstrate a desire to advance the state of healthcare and education in Latino and underserved communities through leadership in extracurricular activities and/or membership in civic organizations.
  • Applicants are eligible to receive the scholarship regardless of ethnic background or immigration status. DACA students are encouraged to apply.
DEADLINE: THURSDAY, FEB 1, 2018 at 11:59PM (Central time)

Hampton Roads Community Foundation

The HRCF offers four scholarships for medical school students:

Florence L. Smith Medical for long-time Virginia residents attending medical school at Eastern Virginia, the University of Virginia or Virginia Commonwealth.

Helen and Buzzy Schulwolf Fund for Smith Scholars – A supplemental scholarship for a recipient of the Florence L. Smith Scholarship.

Victor and Ruth N. Goodman Memorial for students from South Hampton Roads, VA (Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Isle of Wight County). studying medicine or other health professions.

Louis I. Jaffe Memorial for graduates of Norfolk State University enrolled in a graduate program at any institution.  Applicants must be Virginia residents with priority given to students from Hampton Roads.

Lewis K. Martin II, M.D. and Cheryl Rose Martin Scholarship – For Virginia residents pursuing medical education at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

Ellis W. Rowe Scholarship – for students from Gloucester County studying ministry, nursing, medicine, agriculture or sciences.

Yeonas Memorial – for students of Greek descent from South Hampton Roads.

One general application is used to apply for all scholarships for which the applicant is eligible.

Requirements include the application form, a personal statement, two letters of recommendation, transcripts from high school and college and a statement of family income and resources.

Deadline: March 1st every year —  Award notifications are sent in May.

For more information visit

Chesapeake Medical Society

Chesapeake Medical Society

The Chesapeake Medical Society offers the $1,000 Hubert W. Kuehn Scholarship to students from Chesapeake VA currently enrolled in medical school.

  1. The applicant attends or has been accepted to an accredited medical school in the State of Virginia.
  2. The applicant lives within the geographical boundaries of the City of Chesapeake when not attending school.
  3. The student must have some past relationship to this community, e.g., grew up here, attended grammar or high school here.
  4. Academic achievement will be the deciding factor when considering between equally qualified applicants.
  5. The scholarship award is $1,000.00.

Previous recipients may reapply.

Deadline: March 1, 2018

For more information and/or a copy of the application telephone Ms. Leslie Phelps, Executive Director, at (757) 312-6192 or email