Hampton Roads Community Foundation

The HRCF offers four scholarships for medical school students:

Florence L. Smith Medical for long-time Virginia residents attending medical school at Eastern Virginia, the University of Virginia or Virginia Commonwealth.

Helen and Buzzy Schulwolf Fund for Smith Scholars – A supplemental scholarship for a recipient of the Florence L. Smith Scholarship.

Victor and Ruth N. Goodman Memorial for students from South Hampton Roads, VA (Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Isle of Wight County). studying medicine or other health professions.

Louis I. Jaffe Memorial for graduates of Norfolk State University enrolled in a graduate program at any institution.  Applicants must be Virginia residents with priority given to students from Hampton Roads.

Lewis K. Martin II, M.D. and Cheryl Rose Martin Scholarship – For Virginia residents pursuing medical education at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

Ellis W. Rowe Scholarship – for students from Gloucester County studying ministry, nursing, medicine, agriculture or sciences.

Yeonas Memorial – for students of Greek descent from South Hampton Roads.

One general application is used to apply for all scholarships for which the applicant is eligible.

Requirements include the application form, a personal statement, two letters of recommendation, transcripts from high school and college and a statement of family income and resources.

Deadline: March 1st every year —  Award notifications are sent in May.

For more information visit http://www.hamptonroadscf.org/Scholarships/Graduate-Medical-Theological-Scholarships/How-to-Apply